Living in Los Angeles – Liked and Didn’t Like

I recently got back from a two and a half month trip to Los Angeles California. I was able to complete an Internship, which lead to a job offer. It was a very good experience where I was able to learn a lot, not just about my field of work, but about living in the 2nd biggest city in the United States.

Likes:

The Weather

  •    The Weather in Los Angeles is perfect (no joke) . I was there in the winter and it was in the 60’s or 70’s FH pretty much everyday. It did rain a few days ( which I hear is unusual ) but that didn’t bother me that much. Another thing was the constant blue skies and sun. I love feeling the sun on me, it just makes me happier, and I was able to feel the sun quite a bit while I was there in LA. I need that Vitamin D!

Image result for Los Angeles Sun

Diversity

  • I come from a place where everyone is literally the same(No Joke). To be honest, it gets old after awhile. In Los Angeles, there are a ton of different kinds of people. I was able to work with people from the Philippines, Armenia, Hawaii, Mexico and Australia. It was liberating and freeing in a way.
  • Not only is there more diversity, but the overall “vibe” of LA is also liberating. It is more of a relaxed or chill vibe, it feels very non judgmental and makes me feel like I can be myself.

The Ocean 

  • I worked right by the Santa Monica Pier and I loved going to the ocean and just relaxing. Going to the ocean everyday was something I was definitely not used to!

Image result for santa monica beach

The Opportunities

  • There are a lot of companies in Southern California. There is a lot going on, a lot of minds at work, making the world a better place, coming up with solutions and contributing to the economy.
  • I worked in Silicon Beach and it was awesome to see all the different companies hard at work. There are a lot of opportunities in Los Angeles, and not just the opportunity to become a movie star!

The Neighborhoods

  • Los Angeles is full of a TON of different neighborhoods, and they are all different. They offer different pros and cons with different types of people. You can be a hipster in Silver Lake, a movie star in North Hollywood or raise a family in Pasadena. The options are endless!

Image result for la map with all the neighborhoods

Dislikes:

Traffic

  • I worked with a client that was 14 miles away from where I lived. It took me 45 minutes to drive those 14 miles. It was interesting because I would put the address in my phone and it would take me on the back roads, I hardly went on freeways because they were so packed in the morning.
  • Now, yes it sucks, but I would try and be positive about the commute by listening to podcasts and music. Trying to be productive during the commute, that is a key in Los Angeles. But, ya, the traffic is annoying.

Image result for Los Angeles traffic

Cost of Living

  • Rent is expensive in Los Angeles. It haunts me a bit, knowing I will potentially move there, knowing that I will have to most likely pay 2,000 or more a month for rent. At the same time, there are places that cost more ( New York or San Francisco ).

Taxes

  • I was baffled by the near 40% tax rate in California. If you live anywhere in California, you will be paying a lot of taxes.

Some Sketchy Stuff

  • I admit that I did not live in the safest part of LA. I got a cheap AIRBNB just west of downtown, and though it was cheap, it was a bit sketchy. I would ride the metro most of the time and there are a lot of interesting people around the metro stops. For example, I got offered drugs once and I got asked for money several times and I saw a guy peeing in the street.

 

The conclusion is that Los Angeles comes with a lot of good things along with some not good things. I really enjoyed my stay there and I look forward to potentially living there for a longer period of time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

